Replica Slippers

As I’ve said before, with practice, I’ve greatly improved the sequining on the shoes, and the result of some of that can be seen above on the toe of the right replica shoe, the sequining of which is a near exact replication of that found on both the left Smithsonian shoe and aspects of the “Witch’s Shoes.” In doing so, both the angle of the lines of sequining, and the spacing between them are of equal importance. To ensure the lines are perfectly straight, I have taken to placing a thin strip of painter’s tape to guide each, and every, line of sequins, the results of which can be seen above. Initially, (as noted previously) it was my practice to place tape for the initial line of sequins, and free-hand each subsequent line parallel to this, but this resulted in inconsistant, (and inauthentic) lines of sequins, which were far from acceptable, so I have changed tactics, and use a thin strip of tape for each line of sequins.

Replica Slippers

Also, to space the lines of sequins properly, I have found they should be spaced approximately 4.5mm from the center of one sequin, to the outer edge of the sequin in the row next to it. As the sequins are each 5mm in diameter, this allows a slight overlap of 0.5 mm. While spacing them at 5mm, would seem to allow each row to rest just next to those aside it, I have found, rather, as the shoe is not perfectly flat, this produces gaps in the sequining, through which the georgette is plainly visable, so 4.5mm seems to produce the most authentic result. Placing them closer together than this produces too much overlap, which looks jumbled and far from authentic.

I, of course, didn’t figure out many of these specifics until I was well underway with the left shoe, and just beginning the right (after a false start on it which caused me to strip all the work and start over) so, some time ago, I stripped the left shoe (again), to ensure the shoes are mirror images of each other, and proceeded from there.

In the photo above you will see from the blue painter’s tape that I am currently working on reconstructing the sequining of the toe, which is easily the most difficult aspect of sequining the shoes thus far. In doing so, I am working from the left and right sides alternatively, working forward (toward the toe) to ultimately lend the design the proper overlap stair-step pattern seen of the authentic pairs. Clearly, despite being at work on these shoes for months now, they are still some time off, but the results I am yielding have greatly improved over time, so it’s all quite worth it in the end.

Replica Slippers

